Côtes du Rhône Villages agrees to add three new appellations

Côtes du Rhône Villages agrees to add three new appellations

Steps have been made to increase the Côtes du Rhône Villages with three new appellations added that will be able to market their status in 2017.

The three new appellations added include:  Côtes du Rhône Villages Sainte-Cecile; Côtes du Rhône Villages Suze-la-Rousse; and Côtes du Rhône Villages Vaison la Romain. They have all been approved bythe National Institute for Appellations of Origin (INAO).

The three areas have been given their status from the 2016 harvest and can start marketing it next year.

The three new appellations break down as:

* Côtes du Rhône Villages Sainte-Cecile: three cooperative and 15 wineries of which Grenache is 68%, Syrah 14%, Mourvèdre 8% and Carignan and Cinsault.

* Côtes du Rhône Suze-la-Rousse: two cooperatives, more than 20 private wineries, and has a slightly higher proportion of Syrah (20%) and Carignan vineyards (12%).

* Côtes du Rhône Villages Vaison la Romain: six cooperatives and over 12 wineries.

“It gives official recognition to our team and their skills,” said André Macabet, of the CDRV Vaison la Romaine appellation

Vincent Boyer of Domain de la Bastide, in Suze-la-Rousse, said it was also confirmation that the the growers had introduced new production technique. he said: “Any move into a higher category required time, energy and courage, as quality also has to be improved.”

©️ 2022 Wine behind the label. All Rights Reserved.